Home Page About us Diamonds and Collections Diamond Education Testimonials Contact Us

No two diamonds are the same, every diamond is unique. Yet all diamonds share certain features that allow us to compare and evaluate them. When combined these features affect the overall value assigned to a diamond. These features are called the 4Cs: CARAT WEIGHT, CLARITY, COLOUR and CUT.

Diamond cut is the metric used to evaluate the precision and quality of the overall cutting in the diamond itself. Diamond cut is the most complex of the 4 Cs and affects the interplay of light with a diamond. Diamond Cut usually takes into consideration 3 criteria: Proportions, Symmetry and Polish. Sometimes Light Performance or other tests can be used to also calculate the precision of the diamond cut. The Cut is a diamonds's most important charataristics. It is the greatest influence on a diamond's beauty.
Diamonds image
The Diamond Colour scale extends from D (colourless) to Z (light yellow or brown). The differences between one diamond colour grade and another are very subtle and difficult to distinguish. Each letter grade represents a range of colour and is a measure of the degree of colour within the diamond, all measured by comparing the diamond to a set of master stones.
Diamonds image
Diamond Clarity is a measure of a diamond's internal flaws and impurities. A diamond that is virtually free of interior or exterior inclusions (commonly referred to as flaws) is of the highest quality. To determine a diamond's clarity, it is viewed under 10 x magnifications by a trained gemmologist. Small inclusions neither mar its beauty nor endanger its durability.
Diamonds image

Flawless (FL):
Free from all blemishes and inclusions.
Internally Flawless (IF): Free from inclusions, minute blemishes.
Very, Very Slightly Included (VVS1, VVS2): Minute inclusions, extremely difficult to see, even for a trained grader.
Very Slightly Included (VS1, VS2): Minor inclusions, difficult to see face up.
Slightly Included (SI1 and SI2): Inclusions are noticeable to a skilled grader using 10 magnifications.
Included (I1, I2, and I3): Inclusions are obvious under 10 magnification.
Carat Weight:
Carat weight is the weight of the diamond measured in carats. One carat is divided into 100 "points." For instance 75 points=3/4 carat and 50 points = 1/2 carat. Carat weight is the most obvious factor in determining the value of a diamond. But two diamonds of equal carat weights can have very different prices, depending on their quality.
Diamonds image

Shape describes a diamond's form, mostly from a top view, and all shapes (round, princess, radiant, etc.) have different attributes.

At The Vow Diamonds we apply the same high quality standards to all our diamond shapes.
All of our certified diamonds are graded by one of the most respected Diamond Grading Labs
We have an exceptional collection; please feel free to contact us for more information

Diamonds image


Follow us:
Disclaimer | Policy | | Designed by Trinity Designs